Top 4 of WWE NXT 2/8/12

As with FCW this week, I have to at least give an honorable mention to Regal on commentary before I get into the list. Regal continually puts over all of the talent while not sounding like he really likes any of them. Where I may not have made a special spot for him on the top four he really is one of my three favorite men on commentary (Scott Stanford at number one, Byron Saxton at number three).

4. Percy Watson vs. Darren Young

I have to ignore that Titus O’Neil was on commentary for this match or else I would have to drop this match entirely from the top four. O’Neil started off well and for a few moments he had me fooled, I thought there might be hope for him. Silly me. Watson and Young did put on an entertaining match, though that saw Watson as the victor. Young still sounds tight on the mic, as if he is not quite comfortable with his words, but in the ring he’s come a long way. Watson continues to improve on the mic and in the ring to the point he might be breaking into one of my favorites of NXT. He still has a way to go, though.

3. Maxine/Kaitlyn Derrick/Heath

No, this is not my contrived way of making sure that Bateman makes it onto the list. Maxine and Kaitlyn had an excellent match that nearly could have made it to the top two, except for a horribly botched ending that was obvious to me. As I always say, if it is obvious to me, it’s pretty darn obvious. Until that ending, though, these women put on an excellent show. Derrick Bateman and Heath Slater had a match at the beginning of the show that made me want to cry because Bateman lost, but both men looked good in the ring in the meantime. Then there were the segments. Curtis hints to Kaitlyn that Bateman might have a thing for her and Maxine once more gets in Kaitlyn’s face. Bateman also does not try to play off his loss to Slater as no big deal, admitting that after showing clips of Slater losing, losing to him this week did not go over well.

2. Curt Hawkins and Tyler Reks vs. The Usos

Hawkins and Reks. That should be all I have to say. I love these two in the ring and hate when NXT does not use them. This week they face The Usos again. The Usos, who usually are pretty great in the ring, decided they were going to be a bit sloppy this time. The match was still entertaining, but this had more botches in it than I wanted to see. It made me cringe and I hid behind my computer for a bit, trying not to see it. I do not know if their head was not in it that night or what the problem was, but it was sad to see this match go the direction it went. Still, Hawkins and Reks! Oh, and Hawkins punches out Striker.  That helped push this up.

1. Tyson Kidd vs. Trent Barreta

Anyone who reads my NXT blogs on a regular basis, and I know you do, knows that I’ve been complaining about these two lately. Not because they aren’t great, Kidd and Barreta could wrestle circles around most of the roster which I suspect is the reason they are “jobbers,” but because they have these two men wrestling with no storyline. I want drama with my wrestling! Okay, I’m a girl, I want drama in everything. But Kidd and Barreta were constantly fighting with nowhere to go while everyone else on NXT had a storyline. Then WWE did something unprecedented: they gave me what I wanted. After the match Kidd and Barreta shake hands and then later in the show Kidd pretty much asks Barreta to join him as a tag team. Does this fully turn Kidd back into a face? I don’t care. I just was doing my own little version of a celebratory dance when this happened.

I realize I punished Kaitlyn and Maxine for their both and still gave The Usos a higher precedent when they had more botches, but WWE still has me trained to think less of divas than I do of the men.  While this is changing as I watch more and more talent on the “lesser” shows, for now I have to face up to being a bit of a product of WWE messaging.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in February 2012 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

